Parlementaire Assemblee bespreekt persvervolging in Wit-Rusland, Monaco's aanvraag voor lidmaatschap Raad van Europa, en de wijze waarop Turkije en Albanië verplichtingen nakomen (en)

Met dank overgenomen van Raad van Europa (RvE), gepubliceerd op vrijdag 21 juli 2006.

Strasbourg, 19.04.2004 - Disappeared persons and the persecution of the press in Belarus, the honouring of commitments by Turkey and Albania, and Monaco's application for membership of the Council of Europe top the agenda of the Assembly’s spring session (Strasbourg, 26-30 April 2004).

Reports on the strengthening of the United Nations, on euthanasia and on the situation of European prisons and pre-trial detention centres will also be debated. There have been requests for urgent debates on the situation in Kosovo and the new Dutch policy on asylum-seekers.

Croatian Prime Minister Ivo Sanader (Tuesday 27), Netherlands Prime Minister Jan Peter Balkenende and Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands and Chairman of the Committee of Ministers Bernard Bot (Wednesday 28), and Azerbaijan President Ilham Aliyev (Thursday 29) are among guest speakers.

Monaco National Council President Stéphane Valéri, Kazakhstan Senate Speaker Nurtay Abikayev (Tuesday 27), and the UN Secretary General’s Special Representative in Kosovo Harri Holkeri (Thursday 29) will also address the Assembly.

Peter Schieder, President of the Parliamentary Assembly, will give a press conference on Monday 26 April at 11 a.m. (Room 1). Other press conferences will be announced on the spot.

    • *

The following is a provisional order of business which may be altered by the Assembly on the first day of the session.

Monday 26 April

Tuesday 27 April

Wednesday 28 April

Thursday 29 April

Friday 30 April

  • If the urgent procedure is decided by the Assembly.

See the Assembly's website,, for further details. Additional information may also be found on the Council of Europe web portal,


Communication Unit of the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly

Tel. +33 3 90 21 50 26 – Fax +33 3 90 21 41 34; e-mail:

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93

Fax : +33 3 90 21 41 34