Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures against cyber-attacks threatening the Union or its member states

Met dank overgenomen van Raad van de Europese Unie (Raad), gepubliceerd op vrijdag 11 september 2020.

On 30 July 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/11271 amending Council Decision 2019/797/CFSP.

The Council Decision adds six natural persons and three entities or bodies to the list of natural and legal persons, entities and bodies subject to restrictive measures set out in the Annex to Decision (CFSP) 2019/797.

The Candidate Countries Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania2, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 30.07.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no L 246, p.12.

[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.